Will chicks be okay with Mama hen outdoors in the cold???

Chickennewbie123

Hatching
Nov 24, 2019
00100lPORTRAIT_00100_BURST20191113161427581_COVER.jpg
Edit: we got some fertile eggs from a friend and slipped them under our broody.

Hello all,

My hen turned broody three weeks ago, so we decided to go ahead and let her sit on some fertile eggs. Tomorrow is day 21 and I am very excited about the possibility of some chicks hatching!

Of course it has been rather warm here in Oregon, until recently. In fact, we are supposed to get our first snow this coming week. Here are my questions as I am extremely new to this:

1. If any eggs end up hatching, will Mama hen know and be able to care for her chicks in the cold? I prefer not to bring the chicks indoors if at all possible.

2. Are new chicks generally accepted within the flock? Right now we have three hens total. No roosters. there is plenty of space in their Coop, and they are free range during the day.

Thank you so much for any advice!

Last edited:
New chicks are only accepted if the broody hen protects them which they will do 98% of the time.
A broody will be able to keep them warm down to near 10F. But when I had that situation, I put a heat lamp over the feed and water station. That way they could eat and drink in peace. The chicks were OK under her in the nest.
When it got below 10, I took them inside (I don't know if they would have been OK with her). However when the weather warmed up about 10 days later, I returned them and brought the chicks out in a carrier. It was the most amazing sight. She ran to the carrier to greet them and I'm sure she thought they were gone forever.
Good luck.

How are they fertile?