Winter feed to summer feed

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Utard, Mar 10, 2014.

1. Utard

Utard Chillin' With My Peeps

Does anyone know about what temperatures I should switch from the winter feed (20% protein) to summer feed (16% Protein)?

I only have a few more days of the 20% but I don't want to switch too early so they get cold.

2. Arielle

Arielle Chicken Obsessed

Feb 19, 2011
    Massachusetts, USA
    THis is very interesting-- can I ask why the change in protein levels?? WHat am I missing-- wouldn't the girls need MORE protein as they come into lay, not less?

[​IMG]

3. Utard

Well I assumed this is what everyone did? Since the place that I bought them told me to use the higher protein in the winter because it helps them keeps warmer.

But hey I am new to this so I could be wrong.

Is this the wrong thing to do?

4. Arielle

Arielle Chicken Obsessed

Feb 19, 2011
    Massachusetts, USA
    I can't say that this is incorrect. Might depend on the purpose as you stated originally.

Usually corn is used as high energy feed rather than protein. And while the birds need more energy in the winter to keep warm; the hens eat far more feed when laying, so typically a 15-16% protein pellet is fine, and 18% is often used in breeder flocks.

Could it be that your girls are young? If they spent the winter growing from chicks to pullets, they would benefit from the higher protein to grow properly. Maybe that was why that feed was suggested??

5. Utard

They were hatched on about mid June 2013.

So are you saying the 16% should be good year round?

They made it sound like I needed to change every summer/winter. And I was told the reason is the higher protein will let them generate more body heat. Hence the reason less in summer.