Winter Incubating

dannyisforreal

Songster
10 Years
Jun 22, 2013
LOST
Im really wanting some baby chickens and more chickens right now. Im considering buying some eggs? Is it safe to ship the eggs in cold weather with a heat pack? Is it a bad idea to incubate in the winter? Will my hatch rate go down?
Thanks

The main concern would be the eggs freezing and cracking. I would also think that under a certain temp, you would change the integrity of the egg contents. I would look for some local eggs if you can't wait.

Im really wanting some baby chickens and more chickens right now. Im considering buying some eggs? Is it safe to ship the eggs in cold weather with a heat pack? Is it a bad idea to incubate in the winter? Will my hatch rate go down?
Thanks
I'm just a newbie, but I've already heard some conflicting things about shipping eggs with heating packs... you don't want the egg to start developing during transit, if I understand correctly. It's better for the egg to be kept cool (but not actually freeze-I guess that's another concern), slowly rise to room temperature, and then begin to develop in the incubator. I'm sure some actual experienced hatchers can explain this better, though.

I have started my first incubation, but I have three stations: the outside coop for full-feathered, a large pen in the garage for the teenagers (heat lamp at night), and some totes kept inside for the hatchlings. I don't plan on shipping any eggs, only hatching them as a hobby for local friends and family.

I am extremely interested in how other members respond. I hope you keep us updated on what you decide to hatch and the incubator you have chosen to use...?

Last edited:
           Thanks

With any shipped eggs there is always the risk of them becoming damaged during the shipping process and lowering hatch rate. Cold will add to the risk of them not hatching or being viable for hatching. I would totally agree with Percheron chick about getting local eggs to hatch.