yet another question about humidity (in incubators) :)

mothersin2ition

Songster
11 Years
Apr 2, 2008
Othello, WA
The humidity in our house is always in the 40-50's range. My question is, will I need to get it down? If so, how? I have read alot of different opinions, but Im afraid if I up it on day 18, then they may drown? Should I try to lower it until day 18, then let it get back to the normal 50% range thats in the house? I hope that makes sense.

are they in an incubater??what kind????
I don't concern myself with house humidity...just what the hydrometer reads in the incubater...........
smile.png

I'm a newbie so hopefully someone with more experience will weigh in. 40% to 50% sounds about right for day 1 - 18 so if you're in that range you shouldn't have to lower it. From everything I have read (and I hope I'm right cuz I go into lockdown today!), on day 18 when you go into lockdown you will want to up it to 70% to 80% to keep the membrane from drying out when they pip & zip.

Its a homemade forced-air styrofoam bator. The humidity stays constantly at 50% inside. So upping it to 60-65% wont drown the chicks when they try to hatch? Id really rather not try to get my hum down day 1-18 (as opposed to just upping it at lockdown). I guess I will try it and see what happens
fl.gif

Also wanted to add one more question- can I hatch at 100.7 degrees? My bator is stable at this temp and Im having a hard time getting it to come down.

Yes, I understand, we both live in this soggy place called Washington.