hatching ducks

KimberBee

Songster
May 11, 2021
Texas
I'm new to hatching ducks (welsh harlequin) with an incubator. I let the wrong duck get broody and she's not the best broody duck. I took the eggs from her b/c she was leaving too long and she crushed one (accidentally, I'm sure). She also got mean. None of my other ducks have bitten me when they were broody.

My question is how to know when to assist. I had one that was developing and I thought we were on track. Then it stopped moving. I put in a safety hole using the 5/64 drill bit. I finally opened the egg today to find a fully formed female duckling. The only thing left was to resorb the yolk sac. It didn't smell bad like infection. There was no visible bleeding. From the gross view, this was a perfectly formed beautiful duckling.

I'm a biologist by education, and I know this happens naturally. I'm still questioning my job as a caretaker.
When do you assist?
I've been told I should open it up... but if something is wrong, it seems this is nature's way of handling it. I'm wondering what others would do.
Thank you

picture below is our first hatchling of the season. and one of my welshies.

Attachments

• IMG_1880[1].JPG
    IMG_1880[1].JPG
    503 KB · Views: 24
  • IMG_1690[1].JPG
    IMG_1690[1].JPG
    1,022.6 KB · Views: 5
I just hatched out 3 of the Welsh Harlequin breed of duckling's in my incubator from shipped egg's on the 18th. I ended up with 1 male and 2 females. I left them alone in my incubator until I seen that they were trying to hatch, then I just removed some of the loose shell's. Then yesterday I had 9 baby Naked Neck chick's that also hatched out. They are all in my brooder together now.

What do you have the humidity of your incubator set at?