Bee's key points to successful and safe free ranging.

By Beekissed · Aug 16, 2013 · Updated Jun 14, 2015 · ·
Rating:
5/5,
  1. StaffordshireLady
    "Every day you learn something new -"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 4, 2019
    Excellent information. Thank you.
    Beekissed likes this.
  2. Ranchwithaview
    "Very helpful"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 21, 2019
    The dog discussion was a new aspect for me. We are considereing getting a dog, and this article gave me other points to consider.

    It is good to have tips on how to safely free range.
    NightingaleJen and Beekissed like this.
  3. Sunshine_Chick
    "Must read if you free range"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 15, 2019
    Lots of valuable information. I especially found the breed observations interesting and certainly educational. Thanks for putting this together!:thumbsup
    Beekissed likes this.
  4. bonsaiherb
    "Free Range tips for chickens"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 23, 2018
    That was a great article. Many good points - more on the FENCING needed as I have found out the hard way that 4 inch spaced wire will not keep chickens in. Same for 'flighty birds' in general.

    View attachment 1513833

    One reason 'Free Range' does not work. I seem to be blessed with rebels and contrarians. Cannot believe these ingrates decide to lay out in the bushes when I have provided such a nice hen house and nesting boxes. :-(
    Amethyst Gem, Americana, Speckled Sussex, EE, OE and Cuckoo Maran - no matter. They prefer to lay in a group nest outside the hen house. Will have to lock them up for a full day to start them over.
  5. RavenTree
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 15, 2018
    About sums it up.
    Beekissed likes this.
  6. BarnDoorClosed
    "anyone who wants to freerange should read!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2018
    Beekissed likes this.
  7. The Phantom
    "Very nice!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 12, 2018
    So far I have lost no birds free ranging in 6 years. :yesss:
    The EEs are very good alarm clocks. Lol sometimes better than my rooster.
    Beekissed likes this.
  8. CJClucks
    "Great tips!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2018
    Thank you for sharing this information. I wouldn’t have thought about the perils of fall chicks.
    Beekissed and Kayla’s Chickens like this.
  9. KLIL
    "Great Read"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 10, 2018
    Beekissed and Kayla’s Chickens like this.
  10. RedDirtRambler
    "Informative and Well-written"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 9, 2018
    This is an outstanding article - concise, informative, and even inspiring. An encouragement to those who wish to free-range their chickens. Thank you!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: