THE MULLIGAN

A shed to coop conversion including sketches, design criteria, list of features and approximate build cost.
By DobieLover · Jul 25, 2019 · ·
Rating:
5/5,
  1. ChemicalchiCkns
    "You are my mother's parents in happier times"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2019
    and with an engineering degree, which explains my affinity for your style. I think that ceiling light is dubious and recommend a very utilitarian style, like Lithonia makes, which I once used.
    DobieLover likes this.
    1. DobieLover
      Thank you! It's one of my favorite flips!
  2. Chick-N-Fun
    "Wow! Amazing job!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2019
    DobieLover likes this.
    1. DobieLover
      Thank you, Tina!
  3. hispoptart
    "Amazing!!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 5, 2019
    I can't believe the transformation! I'm so excited to get started on mine. I really hope I can keep the cost quite a bit lower, but I just know things will come up that I didn't calculate in :oops: You really have given me some serious inspiration!!!!
    WhoDatChick and DobieLover like this.
    1. DobieLover
      My coop, run and flock are a lot bigger than yours. I'm sure you can keep the cost down!
      Tip: If you decide to use shingles, I purchase the minimum amount to get the 20% bulk discount, then pay with my Lowe's card for another 5% off and then just pick up what I need, tell them I changed the plan and don't need the rest and get a refund for what I don't pick up!
  4. sourland
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 5, 2019
    WOW ! What a transformation.
    hispoptart and DobieLover like this.
    1. DobieLover
      Yes, it certainly was. I could not post samples of the before and after smell or I would have. That shed really was stinky when I began work!
  5. WhoDatChick
    "Wow! You thought of EVERYTHING!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 4, 2019
    While I love and think my coop and run is da bomb... and pretty perfect in every way.. yours makes me a bit envious :oops:... I really love it! And you didn’t miss a detail!
    hispoptart and DobieLover like this.
    1. DobieLover
      Nothing like making mistakes to make things better and learn what you REALLY need!
      Thanks for the review.
  6. aart
    "Love the title....."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 4, 2019
    ....are you a golfer?
    Title of one of my favorite novels too.

    Great article and build!
    hispoptart and DobieLover like this.
    1. DobieLover
      No, not a golfer. The ex was though and boy did he take a lot of mulligans! I thought it was appropriate.
      Thanks for your review.
  7. Ali James
    "Lovely, well written article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 1, 2019
    This was a lovely article to read and you're clear passionate about your hooks and your projects!
    hispoptart and DobieLover like this.
    1. DobieLover
      Thank you for taking the time to read the article and for you kind comments.
  8. Meg-in-MT
    "Hole in one!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 29, 2019
    You weren't kidding about the length, but I loved every minute of it! I was sad to see I was at the end! You do such a great job of explaining things and not having it read like a manual. Your tales of woe with Fabio are quite humorous and I'm glad you continue your love/distaste relationship with him :lol: Kudos on an article well written.
    hispoptart, N F C and DobieLover like this.
    1. DobieLover
      Thank you, Meg
      Fabio and I have been getting along just fine lately. Give him another year and he'll be an All Star rooster.
  9. CCUK
    "Awsome coop"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 27, 2019
    Probably the best and most informative coop article I've read! A fantastic job very highly finished! You have some very lucky girls! And I hope fabio is happy now!
    hispoptart and DobieLover like this.
    1. DobieLover
      Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the article. Fabio is happy indeed. He met his kids this afternoon for the first time. I'll be posting a few more pictures on the Recovery page. Too cute!!
  10. Shadrach
    "the Account, Just read it."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 26, 2019
    I just loved reading this. It's got plenty of build information, great pics and for me the humour makes this the best coop article I've read.
    Great job DobieLover.:clap:clap:clap:hugs
    1. DobieLover
      Thanks, Shad. Humor? I was deadly serious!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: