2 week old chicks, Bad pasty butt

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chickybums, May 25, 2012.

1. chickybums

chickybums In the Brooder

May 25, 2012
    Picked up 5 chickens yesterday from a hatchery BPF, in BC.
    3 chicks are Ameraucana, and one has a very pasty butt that looks NOTHING like the other 2 Ameraucanas.
    1 chick is a 2 week old Silkie and she seems to be fine
    and last is a 13 week old Red silkie sex I have NO CLUE lol pic below.
    [​IMG][​IMG]

and the Last 3 pics I am wondering the proper easiest way to clean the one's bum as i tried with a moist paper towel even had to dip its bum int eh water didn't get it all but most, today its all caked up again. ( its the lil black chicky) Took pics on my phone but unsure how to post. , hope this works, Also what do you think my red silkie is as This is my first time having chicks, so I will probably be asking a LOT of questions :O) [​IMG]

[​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG] Very Red Puffy sore scabbed bum on black Ameraucana 2 week old chick, bum looks different then ALL teh other chiks. ANY HELP APPRECIATED GREATLY, I want to save my chicks :O)

2. Whitewinterwolf

Whitewinterwolf Songster

Apr 11, 2011
    Massachusetts
    Oh dear. Well yes I would say that washing the little guys bum in warm water would be the best idea.
    Dont get him all wet, just his butt, and have a warm towel fresh from the dryer ready along with a hair dryer.
    Once the poop is able to be removed, dry and wrap! Hehe, thats what I had to do for my little D'uccle who's butt refused to stay clean as a baby.

1 person likes this.
  3. chickybums

May 25, 2012
    | did gt most of it off, she/he who knows lol but IT was not happy, the blowdryer was not her favorite thing either. bum looks a little sore and near the bottom of her vent its just tooooo scabbed on so i removed the best i could without ripping off her skin, so I vasalined her right up and so far she is ok,