3 day old chick with a limp

maestralina

Hatching
5 Years
Mar 3, 2014
Hello! I have hatched chicks for a classroom project. Soon my chickens will be going to new homes (students' homes). I have a 3 day old chick whose right leg joint is red and swollen. He/she doesn't want to put weight on the leg and when he does the leg sticks out at a funny angle. I have a feeling it is broken. Is there anything that I can and or should do? I really want to help him but I am a complete novice. The other teachers in my building have suggested just letting nature take its course or to take him to an animal hospital. The latter is an expensive option especially if they will only tell me he will not make it and the humane thing is to put him down.

I spoke to an animal hospital and one lady there who has chickens suggested keeping him as immobile as possible and maybe trying to splint the leg??

I am hopeful someone can help, and maybe even visit my classroom for direct advice or help!

Welcome to BYC. It's hard to say if it is broken or may have a birth defect like slipped achilles tendon, but a break probably would heal in a couple of weeks. A splint can be made for a chick with tape and cotton padding. The slipped tendon doesn't have as good an outcome. Here is an excellent, but very long page for treatment of various leg and foot problems with instructions on splints: https://sites.google.com/a/poultrypedia.com/poultrypedia/poultry-podiatry

Last edited: