4 months Gander starting to get aggressive. Help!

Aty439318

Chirping
Apr 27, 2023
Hello Everyone!

This is my first time raising geese and it has been amazing until recently. My 5 geese are 4 months old. About a month ago, one of the White Chinese charged at my niece. I really did not thought much about it and ignored him. However, lately he has gotten pretty aggressive. Even with me, which he never was. I’ve seen him charged at my neighbor since his property is very close to where I keep them, but I figured since he was a stranger he wanted to protect his territory. Other than the one, the others behave nicely. I was thinking about rehoming him to a friends house, but I do feel bad since… well… I love them! Anyways, I’ve always played on the idea that maybe I should only keep two, but I don’t know. Haha. Is this maybe a phase that they go through? I mean, he is very young and won’t he get more aggressive as he gets older? I’ve put in practice all of the tricks I’ve read on different threads here. However, I’m really worried that he will keep acting up and encourage the others to do the same. Please, help!

He’s a Chinese goose which seem a spicier than other breeds. I can’t tell you wether he will calm down, it’s impossible to predict personality and he’s still a baby.

Geese get more hormonal in breeding season which is usually around winter/ spring. In a large flock youngsters under the age of two are kept in check by older dominant ganders and geese, in other words you need to teach him that you’re in charge and so does whoever else that encounters him daily.

When he charges say “NO” and pick him up and carry him around for a minute. it usually rocks their world for awhile.
Keep in mind the more stubborn or hormonal they are, the more frequently they need reminding.