9-month old hen stopped laying after predator attack

callieisspooky

Songster
7 Years
Jul 18, 2012
Carmel Valley, CA
Hello BYC. I'm still new to chickens and hope you can help. A month or so ago, some kind of predator attacked our flock, and we lost one chicken (completely disappeared) and another had a lot of tail feathers missing, but seemed otherwise OK. But, the now-tailless chicken has not laid since. Is it possible her egg tract was injured? She seems OK, is still eating, can't find any wounds but I'm taking my husband's word for it about that. One month later, is it worth taking her to the vet? Is there anything we can do to help her?

I don't think she stopped laying because of the time of year. Our weather was beautiful until just a few days ago - sunny, temps in the 70s and 80s - and none of our other hens stopped/slowed laying until about a week ago. Tailless hen stopped laying over a month ago, literally the day after the attack. We have several Buff Orpingtons, and the one who stopped laying is the only BO who stopped laying at that time.

In case you were wondering how the attack occurred, we used to let our chickens out into the yard (about a 1/2 acre in back) if we were out with them. However, even though it's a fenced yard in a rural area, and we were nearby, we couldn't always see the flock. We didn't see the attack - which happened around 2pm, not even close to evening! - but are guessing coyote, fox or raccoon. We don't let the hens out anymore. They are not happy about this.

I have had hens go off laying from stressful events. Mine went on a 3 week strike when we moved. Unless she has any obvious external injuries, I wouldn't think it would be worth it to take her to the vet; he is likely to shrug and say "she'll recover or she won't," which you knew already. Just give her time, keep things peaceful, and I will bet she will come around.