A few questions for you guys. I am new to turkeys

Fowling around

Chirping
Apr 20, 2015
So I have a bourbon red hen, 3 bronze hens and a bronze tom. They are all heritage birds. The bourbon has been laying every other day. I do not know if she has been with a tom before I put her with one or not. But we will know in 28 days just set 3 of her eggs and 36 eggs in the bator. Question one - The hens I just bought were sitting on a brood of eggs, how long before they start laying again? Question 2 - How long do turkeys lay? Question 3- Do I clip their wings just like my chickens, and how high can they get off the ground with their wings clipped? Any and all help is appreciated.
The bourbon red laid the same day I brought her home, just wondering how long turkeys may wait after being moved. I read sometimes a chicken will stop laying for up to three weeks after being stressed.

So 30 views and no answers. Well I have seen the Tom breeding this week so they are again receptive does this mean they are going to start laying again. Today is the first day since I have had them he has bred and I pay attention to my birds before today when he got close the hens would run away.

So I have a bourbon red hen, 3 bronze hens and a bronze tom. They are all heritage birds. The bourbon has been laying every other day. I do not know if she has been with a tom before I put her with one or not. But we will know in 28 days just set 3 of her eggs and 36 eggs in the bator. Question one - The hens I just bought were sitting on a brood of eggs, how long before they start laying again? Question 2 - How long do turkeys lay? Question 3- Do I clip their wings just like my chickens, and how high can they get off the ground with their wings clipped? Any and all help is appreciated.
The bourbon red laid the same day I brought her home, just wondering how long turkeys may wait after being moved. I read sometimes a chicken will stop laying for up to three weeks after being stressed.