A Horsey BYC sibling?

bbRedMom

Songster
12 Years
Nov 30, 2007
Central Arkansas
Hello!

My field fencing will be complete tomorrow, and while I am not ready to actually own a horse yet, I would like to start preparing. I have a barn, but no stalls, and no trailer.

Typing in "Horse Info" on google is overwhelming. Is there a great horse website like BYC out there? I'm really wanting to get into rescue, so breed doesn't matter to me. Thanks!

I was on a forum a long time ago, but it was so slow, that I stopped checking it. I can't even remember what it was called now.

What is it you need to know? There are alot of horse people here, have you checked with the search button what you are looking for?

If not, go ahead and post. I am still learning every day

Yes, I am very, very new! I am a city girl that has always wanted to live in the country. Well now I have my eight acres, two of which are now enclosed with field fence, and I just want to learn...everything!

Whats the best way to build a stall in a pre-existing barn?
Whats a good horse for a beginner?
Can horses and dogs get along?
Etc. Etc. Etc.

Its hard to think of anything specific. Thanks for all the support.

I looooove big horses, especially drafts. They're just so ..sweet. When I worked for a large animal vet, my favorite trips were to the draft surrogates. Soooo pretty.

Of course, I also love little ponies. Such a dicotomy.

Hi yes most of the time dogs are good with horses but you don't want to let them start chasing the horse even in play because the horse could get hurt or the dog could get hurt.
A good starter horse is Quarter horse (my favorite) around 8 to 10 years old very well trained, not spooky, very calm, easy to catch in field, etc.
Just list any other questions I'm sure the BYC'ers will answer.
Good Luck!