Abandoned baby turkey????!!

Rosypetals

Songster
Jan 11, 2018
I need help fast. I was on a walk in the suburb and I saw a shivering little ball of fluff. Turns out, it’s an abandoned little turkey baby that hadn’t been able to jump over the curb. It’s only a day old, and I raised chicks so I have what I think is all the equipment I need. I’ve just read that I should have left it, but it was almost pitch black outside and it can barley lift its head. We waited, it wasn’t cheeping for its mother anymore, it would have been dead by morning. We are bringing it to an animal reserve tomorrow first thing, but I want it to survive the night. What should I do???

Last edited:
So sorry, I can't really help. Thank you so much for rescuing the poor little guy! I'm no expert on turkeys (at all) but I'd assume they need the basic things: food (higher protein than chicken food), heat, and water. Read online somewhere that you should place shiny marbles in the water to get their attention and encourage them to drink. Also, make sure that the brooder is warm enough for them. Additionally about the water, I've read that you should make it lukewarm to warm as well. Though, there are much more experienced people who will probably reply soon whose advice you can trust more :lol: I hope he'll be okay!

So sorry, I can't really help. Thank you so much for rescuing the poor little guy! I'm no expert on turkeys (at all) but I'd assume they need the basic things: food (higher protein than chicken food), heat, and water. Read online somewhere that you should place shiny marbles in the water to get their attention and encourage them to drink. Also, make sure that the brooder is warm enough for them. Additionally about the water, I've read that you should make it lukewarm to warm as well. Though, there are much more experienced people who will probably reply soon whose advice you can trust more :lol: I hope he'll be okay!