Advice for young rooster

He is an 8 month old Favoreelle (-1 sp) mix. We have 8 hens, 4 are about his size and the other are smaller. I am new to having chickens but he is not what I consider to be to aggressive, but he is protective of the hens. The issue I’m seeing is all the hens have spots on their backs where he is performing his duty. They are all the same age and been together since hatching.

Will he outgrow and ease up on them? I hate to get rid of him but no sure how to calm him.

Advice?

No, that's probably his mating technique. Some wear out the back feathers of hens, some wear out the head feathers, others wear out the wing shoulder feathers. The best way to mitigate the damage is to limit his access to the hens.

No, that's probably his mating technique. Some wear out the back feathers of hens, some wear out the head feathers, others wear out the wing shoulder feathers. The best way to mitigate the damage is to limit his access to the hens.

Or put aprons on your hens' backs. Since you have a rooster, I assume you want fertile eggs. He's just doing his duty. Get aprons for your hens, and he'll grab the aprons and not the feathers. (In theory, anyway.)

I have some Faverolle (correct spelling) hens and roosters that were sold to me by a breeder who had too many. They are magnificent!

... But when we first got them last summer, one of the hens was so barebacked that she got sunburned. We named her "Fried Chicken".

Now she's all fluffy-butt and fully feathered, you wouldn't guess she was the same girl.

all the hens have spots on their backs where he is performing his duty.

Are you seeing bare patches or just some thin areas? Some loss of feathers isn't unusual but you should not be seeing bare spots. You said all of them. When I've had this type of problem it's been just one or two, not all.