Are the new chicks stressing her out?

ChickenLana

Hatching
Apr 30, 2015
(Ok, so I've already made some mistakes and I'm new at this so Please, no judgements!)

I started out with 2 girls whom I adored. They were promptly eaten by the dog, who now lives in a nice, secure kennel. So, I built more fences and bought a full grown girl. The first 3 days after she got here, she gave me eggs. I already had 6 chicks in a brooder box that are about 2-3 weeks. Here is the question: during the day, I have been putting the chicks in a smaller "playpen" inside the run. I know they technically aren't old enough but I swear to you, they LOVE it. Since it's in the 80's, they don't get cold. Back to the point, my big girl hasn't done anything aggressive but she stays right by the playpen all day and won't lay. Does she think these are her chicks? Is she trying to hurt them? What are your thoughts??

(Ok, so I've already made some mistakes and I'm new at this so Please, no judgements!)

I started out with 2 girls whom I adored. They were promptly eaten by the dog, who now lives in a nice, secure kennel. So, I built more fences and bought a full grown girl. The first 3 days after she got here, she gave me eggs. I already had 6 chicks in a brooder box that are about 2-3 weeks. Here is the question: during the day, I have been putting the chicks in a smaller "playpen" inside the run. I know they technically aren't old enough but I swear to you, they LOVE it. Since it's in the 80's, they don't get cold. Back to the point, my big girl hasn't done anything aggressive but she stays right by the playpen all day and won't lay. Does she think these are her chicks? Is she trying to hurt them? What are your thoughts??

Welcome to BYC.