Are these eggs viable? (pics) 12 bantam eggs, day 5 in bator

topochico225

Enthusiasm Enthusiast
Dec 27, 2020
Deep South
Hey y'all!

I'm going to candle again on days 7 and 10, but I wanted to chuck any obvious quitters now. Here are the 12 eggs, please let me know which ones are fertile! I know there's a couple with strong, visible veins, but there's a couple that are questionable. The ones with an H were dipped in hydrogen peroxide before being set in the bator.

I'm thinking #2, 6, and 11 are viable, but I'd love to get others' opinions. I see 2 blood rings and one that looks like clumped dead vessels (#5), but the one that's questionable to me is #3.

TIA! I know the pics aren't wonderful (sorry), but my brother's not a super experienced egg photographer :lol:

@Kiki @LaFleche @azygous
0-2.jpg
0-3.jpg
0.jpg
0-2.jpg
0-3.jpg
0.jpg
0-2.jpg
0-3.jpg
0.jpg

0.jpg

0-2.jpg
0-3.jpg

Last edited:
Okay, I'm very new at this . . . I am only candleing my first batch of eggs, which go on lockdown on Sunday. Looks to me like 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 show signs of life. I did see the blood rings, but I'm so new at this, I would let someone who's done this for a while confirm they are blood rings.

Is it at all possible to get the version of the photos in color? : D
Okay, I'm very new at this . . . I am only candleing my first batch of eggs, which go on lockdown on Sunday. Looks to me like 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 show signs of life. I did see the blood rings, but I'm so new at this, I would let someone who's done this for a while confirm they are blood rings.
I agree. The B&W is hard to distinguish.
I'll get color later today, sorry!

Number each egg individually and separate the ones you think are dead/clear on one side of the incubator (write down the ones you think are questionable) and check again at day 10.