Baby chicks and sunlight

congdon476

GaLLiNa LOcA
11 Years
Dec 31, 2008
Pueblo Area
Hello all- total newbie here and wondering about sunlight and baby chicks? I know I keep reading a heat lamp, but a red bulb if possible so there's no picking... but what about sunlight? It'll be cold here in Feb. when I hope to get them, and would prefer to keep them in a small part of my finished basement where it stays a stable 70 degrees (plus the heat lamp for more). However, there is no window in this area. Is this an issue, or can I simply leave on the regular overhead light bulb as "sunlight"? Thanks.

welcome-byc.gif
Welcome to BYC!! You will find lots of help here!!

I don't have any chickens just yet, BUT I have been following lots of threads here. It seems that the current wisdom is that the chicks need to be kept WARM for at least the first several weeks. Most suggest that you start them out at 95 degrees the first week and then reduce by 5 degrees per week. So it is the heat they need -- not light.

Again -- Welcome!!

Cindy

Hi,

I am a newbie here tooo!!! My 26 girlies will be coming during the weekend of Febuary 2nd. The chicks need heat!

70 is too cool and the chicks will chill and begin to die.

They must be kept in warmer temps starting at 95F the first week and working your way down by 5 degrees each week until you can wean them from the heat lamp.

I used an incandesant bulb in my brooder lamp. The main thing is Temperature. For the first week 95 degrees and reduce it 5 degrees each week. When they are babies. the bright light doesn't seem to bother them, they eat, drink and sleep whenever. I put a wireless digital thermometer in the brooder so I could monitor the temp. I kept my brooder in the barn and on really cold nights I covered it to keep the warmth in.

Last edited:
Start them out at 95 degrees and you can lower it by 5 degrees each week. Eventually you'll get down to 70 degrees and won't ave to woryy bout it nymore

hmm.png