Barred Rock is limping

HenriettaPizzaNolan

Raising Layers and Meat Birds in the City
Premium Feather Member
Apr 22, 2022
Northern Ohio
My Barred Rock hen, Big Rhonda, has been limping for about a week now and is often standing on one leg or laying down. I thought maybe she had bumblefoot, but after inspecting her foot and comparing it with the other, there is absolutely no wound, cut, or swelling.

I also noticed she was pointing her tail downward and laying down a lot, so I thought it was egg binding. However, she has laid 2-3 eggs this week, so that can't be it.

Is there any other condition I can check for and try to rule out? I'm new to chickens so those were the only things I thought of. Btw, her poops are normal and while she is large, she does not seem overweight at all.

I apologize that I don't have a picture of her feet, but I couldn't get one because I was using both hands to hold her. Here's a normal picture of her though (she's in the middle).
signal-2022-07-03-08-34-29-059.jpg

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you!

Last edited:
Chickens are even harder to photograph than babies. I always need to waste six photos for every decent photo I get.

When there is no obvious sign of injury when you have a lame chicken, faint light green brusing on light colored legs or bumblefoot, it often involves the sciatic nerve which can get inflamed for a number of reasons, some very serious as in Marek's, others minor and triggered by bacteria or even stress.

The treatment is vitamin B complex and chewable 81 grain aspirin for pain and inflammation. I like the B-100 that you can get at any vitamin shop as it has the highest amounts of B-2, 6 and 12 necessary for healing nerve connections. Give one table directly into the beak once a day. Give one 81 grain aspirin two times a day in the same manner. Pry open the beak and shove in the pills.

This should produce improvement in about three weeks to a month unless it's being caused by an avian virus.