Breeding Flock of Muscovys

Grassman 52

Chirping
7 Years
Aug 2, 2012
Ludlow Mass
looking for some suggestions on numbers of Muscovy ducks required to operate a self sustaining breeding flock.
I currently have 32 Muscovys around 20 ducks and 12 drakes - in the process of selling a few and putting some away for meat. This is my first year with ducks and want to keep the correct number for breeding next year. My goals are to have enough to eat - sell - and enjoy eggs (secondary). Thinking that I would need to keep about 12 ducks and two or three drakes. Looking for adivice from people who breed these ducks please.

Also how many breeding pens would i need to set-up?

looking for some suggestions on numbers of Muscovy ducks required to operate a self sustaining breeding flock.
I currently have 32 Muscovys around 20 ducks and 12 drakes - in the process of selling a few and putting some away for meat. This is my first year with ducks and want to keep the correct number for breeding next year. My goals are to have enough to eat - sell - and enjoy eggs (secondary). Thinking that I would need to keep about 12 ducks and two or three drakes. Looking for adivice from people who breed these ducks please.

Also how many breeding pens would i need to set-up?
Celtic Oaks Farm may be able to help you out there. She come and goes so you may want to PM her.

How many people are you trying to provide eggs for?

How much meat are you wanting a month?

With the Muscovy - eggs would be for personal use only - Family of 8. As for meat thinking of 8 -10 birds a month, this will allow me to take care of neighbors , friends, and sell some to differ costs

They are seasonal layers unless you are providing extra lighting during the fall and winter so you can expect 1-2 broods per year if left with mom. You can expect 10-16 ducklings per hatch if left with the hen although far fewer or up to somewhere in the 20's is not uncommon. So 120-192 ducklings if only one hatch per bird.