Breeding for broodiness...

KJV1611

In the Brooder
May 31, 2023
I'm relatively new to chicken keeping. I have a Buff Orpington rooster, 4 Black Star hens (RIR/BR), 4 Cinnamon Queens (RIR/SLW), and 3 Barred Rocks. Starting next spring, I would like to hatch out some chicks to add to my flock. My question is, does anyone here have experience with 1/2 breed Buff Orps? I know pure bred BO hens have a tendency to go broody, but do half breeds ever go broody, especially if the BO genes are from the rooster? From what I hear, the Black Stars, Cinnamon Queens, and Barred Rocks aren't known to go broody very often. I understand cross breeding hybrid hens is probably a roll of the dice. But I was just curious if anyone had some experience with this.

Get yourself a silkie or two, they'll brood at the drop of a hat.
Any chicken can go broody or not go broody, they're individuals.
Yeah, I'm sure there are BOs that never go broody, and BR that do. I get that. I was just wondering if anyone else had experience with half bred BOs.

As far as Silkies are concerned, Number 1, they are bantams. I have a rather large BO rooster, I think he would do some damage to them during mating. Number 2, all my hens are large, a few are extra large. Bullying could also be a problem. Number 3, and please don't take offense to this, I think they are one of the creepiest looking chickens I have ever seen. Just looking at a picture of one, 😳 I mean that is the stuff of nightmares.😁

A lot of people say that a Hen's likelihood of brooding comes from their father.

Almost all of my birds have gone broody at least once, apart from my D'anvers and polish bantams. Lots were hatchery chicks and lots were hatched here by an incubator or a hen