Bring Broody and Chicks Inside?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by micstrachan, May 26, 2019.

1. micstrachan

micstrachan Free Ranging

We’re having the coldest, wettest May on record in California. It’s currently 49°F and dropping. I have a broody and brand new baby chicks in a cage in the coop. They’ve done great all day, but wondering if I should bring them in tonight? Snuck the chicks in late last night and they’ve been fine. But Ms. Broody isn’t moving... only eating if I put raw egg directly in front of her. Not drinking water. Not pooping as far as I can tell. Chicks seem to be good. Thoughts?

casportpony likes this.
  2. micstrachan

micstrachan Free Ranging

@Wyorp Rock @azygous @casportpony @rebrascora. What do you think? This is my first time having a hen raise the chicks. My first two batches I hand raised inside with heat. Cashew seems to have adopted all four of the chicks.

casportpony likes this.
  3. casportpony

casportpony Enlightened

If it will give you peace of mind, bring them in. :D FWIW, I just started a fire in the fireplace 'cause it's cold here too!

micstrachan likes this.
  4. micstrachan

micstrachan Free Ranging

I think they're good. Covered them with a towel to keep out drafts. I just fed Cashew some raw egg and watched the littles eat. Cashew came out for a second and clucked her way into her favorite spot in the corner on the floor, but I moved her back into the cage.

casportpony likes this.
  5. micstrachan

micstrachan Free Ranging

I’ll check on them a couple times after dark. If I hear upset peeping or see anyone out from under her, I’ll bring them in.

Willowspirit and casportpony like this.
  6. BigBlueHen53

BigBlueHen53 Songster

Mar 5, 2019
    SE Missouri, USA
    WOW! Amazing that it is that cold on Memorial Day weekend in CA!!! Wishing you and your chickies all the best!
    :th

micstrachan and casportpony like this.