Broken eggs - laid from the perch!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by DayKay, Jan 23, 2010.

1. DayKay

DayKay Out Of The Brooder

Nov 9, 2009
    Howdy! I'm still new to this whole chicken thing, and LOVING it!

We had a 10 x 10 section of our barn built for puppies when our Lab was breeding, and have put chickens in it now that the Lab is spayed. There is a door connecting to a chain-link fenced section of yard. We built a box for nesting and put it in the "puppy area" inside the barn. We put an old shovel handle across the rebar to the kennel fencing for a roost.

The problem is - periodically one of the hens drops her egg from the roost in the morning, and since it drops 3 feet to concrete, it breaks. If I take the roost down, they perch on the top edge of the nesting box, the next highest location in their area, and that quickly becomes filthy!

My specific question is - has anyone tried putting a "safety net" underneath the perch, made of mesh, or chicken wire, or something? What would be the pros and cons of doing that?

Thanks!

Dalene

2. chookchick

chookchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 18, 2008
    Olympia WA
    I don't know about a "safety net", that sounds odd, but have you though about a poop board? A lot of BYCers have them, and are very happy with them. It is mainly used to catch the poo, so you can clean it out every day or so and keeps the coop a heck of a lot cleaner. Most are about 2' wide, and covered with linoleum and a thin layer of shavings--so this might catch any eggs that fall. Mine is a bit different--it is a tray filled with Stall Dry (like a big litter box), never had an egg laid there, but I think it wouldn't crack...I'll get a pic of it.
    [​IMG]

and [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 23, 2010
  3. arherp

arherp Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 29, 2009
    Kentucky