Broken eggs

Enel

Hatching
6 Years
Jan 20, 2014
Hi guys I am rather new to the joys of having chickens and fresh eggs, I have been having a problem with my eggs though, I am not sure if its my hen pecking at the egg or if its the drop thats causing it, but im getting a lot of these:

Nothing leaks out so I take it I could still make use of them within a few days or so right? I've tried adding thicker and more bedding but she keeps pushing it all away to form her nest.

Thanks everyone :)

enel.

Hi, thanks for replies, I use a mixture of straw and this finer type grass (Not sure what you call it) :) Some eggs come out fine, and others are cracked, but she keeps laying in the same spot, I tried to increase the thickness of the bedding by her nesting area but she just keeps making her spot the same!

How high is the lip on that nest? Is she raking out the bedding while arranging the bedding?

Have you checked for nails or screws sticking up that the egg might be hitting? That looks like it is the fat end. That’s the end of the egg that comes out first. Is it normally on the fat end? Is it just one nest?

How thick are those egg shells? Is that just one hen which would make it a hen problem or is it across the flock which makes it a flock problem?

If it is an individual hen problem, some hens just don’t process the calcium right. If the others are laying thick-shelled eggs and you up their overall calcium, you may be hurting the other hens by forcing them to eat more calcium than they need. If it is a flock problem, offer oyster shell on the side and maybe reduce the amount of low- calcium stuff you are feeding them.

That does not look that much like pecking or a claw damaging it when the hen is rearranging the eggs, though that is possible, especially if the shell is thin.