Broody Hen Giving Up!

Kristin Brown

In the Brooder
7 Years
Dec 5, 2012
Arvada, Colorado
My beautiful Black Cochin hen went broody again this summer, June to be specific. She collected four fertile eggs in her clutch a few weeks into her broody-ness. The other 20 something we threw out. Fast forward to present day, two of the four have hatched! Oh lard are they cute.

The other two eggs she lost interest in sometime this morning. They were left cold! :hit

Best option seemed to give them a second chance in the incubator. Unfortunately for them, I have never used this incubator before and this is just a shot in the dark! Keeping my fingers crossed that I can keep the temperature and humidity good for at least a few days until they are ready to hatch. It was either they're left out in the cold to die or try to strike luck in this old incubator.

If you've had a hen quit her nest, what was your experience? Did finishing off the hatch in an incubator work for you?

Here's to hoping. :jumpy

Hi, Kristin! If the eggs were all set at the same time, they probably won't hatch. If they were added to the clutch later than the ones that already hatch, they likely will hatch (as long as they are incubated properly.) Did you candle them? They may be clear and no amount of incubation will hatch them!

Good luck!

The only eggs that were fertile in the clutch she collected were light brown bantam eggs, so I know they could have only came from my bantam Red Frizzle hen. I'm assuming they were each laid at least a day apart for that reason. Yes I candled them and both still have movement inside with a large air cell, however yolk seems mostly have been absorbed, indicating they are close to 20 days.

Its a victory I got that incubator to steady out at 100 degrees! The water resevior is filled but I don't have a way to measure the humidity. Should I add a wet sponge just to be sure the humidity is high?