Broody Silkie

heopdyke

In the Brooder
Apr 3, 2020
So my little silkie decided a few days ago she wanted to be broody. So I decided I would let her sit on two eggs. They are two eggs from my sex linked hens. I am definitely disappointed she isn't sitting on her eggs but that's okay. I am just trying to keep her happy because let me tell you she is an angry girl if you try to mess with her eggs. My questions are; is it going to be too cold for her to hatch eggs (I live in Central NC), do I need to watch to make sure my other hens don't bully her, will she prevent my other hens from laying, signs to look for if the eggs are going bad, and how long is the incubation process? The eggs were laid yesterday (11/5). I have never done this before and I really just care about the wellbeing of my hen. I know being broody can take a lot out of a hen and with the colder months just around the corner I want to make sure she is safe. I am removing her from the eggs every afternoon to make sure she uses the bathroom, eats and drinks. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Hillary
IMG_0690.jpg

Are the eggs fertile? If she isn't sitting on the eggs, then she isn't fully broody yet. Some people give them golf balls or fake eggs until they are sitting on them, then replace them with fertile eggs.