1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Build vs Buy ?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Soulpatch59, Mar 19, 2013.

1. Soulpatch59

Soulpatch59 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2013
    [​IMG] Hi guys/gals--
    As I mentioned in my intro, I'm brand new but a compulsive researcher...so I have lots of theory--no experience. I'd like to begin with 3 girls, and I suspect already that chickens are a bit like potato chips....
    So my quandary: I don't own a mitre saw--or band saw for that matter. I have a fairly crappy drill though!!! [​IMG]I've not built much but I am handy and can follow directions. So, say I get some plans and some lumber...I don't see myself saving any $$ doing it that way initially, considering I'd have to buy all that hardware bling.
    I'm also wondering whether it doesn't make more sense to have some experience under my belt, so I know what I do and don't want to do on a coop, before I make the time investment of constructing my own.
    On the other hand, if you think I'd still be able to construct something healthy and safe for the girls, I'm not averse to trying.
    What would youall suggest?

thanks very much.

2. KBlue

KBlue Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 21, 2011
    Katy, TX
    Buying a coop can get expensive really quick, plus all the accessories that need to go with it (feeder, waterer, etc.), it can be upwards of a few grand.