Building an Incubator

mbphotos09

Songster
Apr 14, 2015
Watching Chicken TV...
Okay, so I've decided to build myself an incubator and hatch a few eggs! I'm so excited!
ya.gif
I am making it out of a styofoam ice chest because that is what I have on hand. BUT before I get too far into this, I have some questions.

- What is the best thermostat to use? I've read to get a hot water heater thermostat but some say those aren't accurate.,?

- What bulb wattage is best? I'm thinking either 25w or 40w, which one do you all use?

- And finally, how many eggs should be in an incubator at a time? I only need a couple more hens to add to my little flock and I know that some eggs won't hatch and I will hatch some boys.

That's all for now and thanks for putting up with my questions! I am a total newbie when it comes to incubating so hopefully this will go well. I will probably remember more questions as soon as I hit submit..
lol.png

If you are only looking at adding a few chickens to your flock, why not just let a broody hatch some?
Because I only have two chickens right now and neither are broody. I also don't have a rooster anymore so I will have to order some eggs. I have wanted to build an incubator for a while now, and thought this would be a good opportunity.
smile.png

Okay, so I've decided to build myself an incubator and hatch a few eggs! I'm so excited!
ya.gif
I am making it out of a styofoam ice chest because that is what I have on hand. BUT before I get too far into this, I have some questions.

- What is the best thermostat to use? I've read to get a hot water heater thermostat but some say those aren't accurate.,?

- What bulb wattage is best? I'm thinking either 25w or 40w, which one do you all use?

- And finally, how many eggs should be in an incubator at a time? I only need a couple more hens to add to my little flock and I know that some eggs won't hatch and I will hatch some boys.