1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Bumbling around

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Leanora, Nov 8, 2014.

1. Leanora

Leanora New Egg

May 21, 2014
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I'm quite new to chicken-keeping and enjoying it hugely. However, 2 of my girls were rescued from grim conditions....free range, but filthy and neglected. These pics are of my big cochin, and whilst we seem to be getting somewhere with her leg mite prob, I'm now worried she has several bumbles. She doesn't actually limb, but she stumbles around, and I don't kniow if this is just because her feet are heavily feathered. Compared to my other girls, her feet are huge! She never perches, but prefers to sit down on her haunches; the first and third pics are of her elbows; the first, has a scab, but I can't feel any kernels, whist the other, with no scab has a hard,iregular lump, (left of pic) Likewise her foot has a small scab, but can't feel anything beneath. HELP!! Am I just looking for trouble, i.e. is it normal to get these on elbows?? Desperately need some experienced advice

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    The footpad has some bumblefoot which doesn't look too bad, but the elbows look like she could possibly have mycoplasma synovitis. It can cause a yellow exudate in the joints, and cause lameness and swelling of feet and legs/joints. Does she have any mild respiratory symptoms, or a sore or blister on her breast? Here is a good link on bumblefoot, complete with a video, and 2 links on MS:
    http://www.thepoultrysite.com/diseaseinfo/99/mycoplasma-synoviae-infection-ms-infectious-synovitis
    http://www.merckmanuals.com/vet/pou...nfection_in_poultry_infectious_synovitis.html