1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Button Quail Setup

Discussion in 'Quail' started by CallsignSix, Nov 15, 2014.

1. CallsignSix

CallsignSix Out Of The Brooder

Nov 15, 2014
    [​IMG]

I'm new to the button quail scene and was hoping to get some input/advice. Here is a pic of my setup. We have 1 male and 3 females. The substrate is gardening topsoil. Is this setup going to lead to these quail laying and brooding? Thanks in advance!

2. GrandmaBird

GrandmaBird Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2012
    Colorado
    Nice set up but I would keep them in single pairs if you want to hatch or have a broody hen. more then one and they will fight for the male or even the nest of eggs. now I am not saying that they can not live in peace like this but just be forewarned . Also the topsoil will be harder to maintain then wood chips but should help keep down the smell a bit. they will dust bathe in the soil so be prepared for a mess when this happens. are they outside? if so I hope you live in a nice warm place. good luck.

3. CallsignSix

Nov 15, 2014
    Thanks for the response GrandmaBird. They are inside the house for now. So far so good.

4. SterlingRanch

SterlingRanch Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2007
    Allen, Tx
    We are using walnut shell litter in ours. We have a very similar setup to yours. I posted a thread with a short video in this forum if you want to see ours.

5. CallsignSix

Nov 15, 2014

Nice setup. Looks cozy. How often do you find you have to change the litter?

6. SterlingRanch

SterlingRanch Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2007
    Allen, Tx