Can I have three drakes and everyone get along?

Younger

Chirping
6 Years
Mar 4, 2013
Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Hi all

I am new to ducking and purchased my first three ducklings 3 weeks ago tomorrow. I love them to bits (even the mess). They told me they can't sex ducks when they are young. I have read that you should have 1 drake to 2 ducks, which would be perfect. Also, if I had three ducks that would also be great. What if I have two drakes? won't they wear the poor duck out? Could three drakes live in harmony?
Thanks, anxiously awaiting the time I can sex them as I am getting more fond of them every day and would be horrified if I have to give one away.

you know what it will be awhile before you have to worry about this why not just enjoy them now as babies and maybe it will turn out for the best 2ducks and 1 drake. or 3 ducks or 3 drakes. you can always decide what best when they are older. your worrying instead of enjoying.
wink.png
Can you keep three drakes together with no females?

Thanks for info. Was afraid of that. Didn't know if they would fight if I didn't have any females around. I have three of something??? 2 Pekin and 1 Rouen. They are 3 weeks old tomorrow so about what age should I be able to tell the sex for sure?
you know what it will be awhile before you have to worry about this why not just enjoy them now as babies and maybe it will turn out for the best 2ducks and 1 drake. or 3 ducks or 3 drakes. you can always decide what best when they are older. your worrying instead of enjoying.
wink.png

Thanks for info. Was afraid of that. Didn't know if they would fight if I didn't have any females around. I have three of something??? 2 Pekin and 1 Rouen. They are 3 weeks old tomorrow so about what age should I be able to tell the sex for sure?

sex on ducks is hard but as your ducks are descended from Mallards

Drakes will get Drake Feathers around 10-15 weeks

THANK YOU !!! Miss Lydia (my duck angel)