candling question

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bantaclear, Apr 19, 2011.

1. bantaclear

bantaclear Out Of The Brooder

Apr 14, 2011
    High River
    I put one egg in my incubater on Monday, will i be able to candle on friday to see if anything has started ?

2. Emmalion

Emmalion Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2011
    Western Massachusetts
    If you have a very bright flashlight and good eyes you might.... might be able to see something. But if you don't know what to look for I would wait until day 10 to candle

3. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

4. bantaclear

bantaclear Out Of The Brooder

Apr 14, 2011
    High River
    its a homemade incubater and i wanted to see if i could keep everything stable with an egg in. I would rather waste one egg than lots. Im a noob when it comes to incubating lol, but i do know what to look for when candling my sister-in-law showed me what to look for when we candled her eggs, but i dont have her to help me this time lol .

5. OHhappychicks

OHhappychicks Overrun With Chickens

May 2, 2009
    Hillsboro,OH
    I don't have the answer for you as I am a newbie at incubating also. I have been told by the very knowledgable [​IMG] people on here to wait until day 10. That day will be on sunday for me! [​IMG] But I just want to [​IMG]! The greatest site and nicest people!! [​IMG]

6. debilorrah

Ok, I hate to be the thunderstorm over your picnic here, but I want you to know that hatching one chick is not a great idea. Chickens are flock animals and they NEED another chick with them to survive. If you are home full time and can make this a house chicken, it will follow you everywhere and be very needy. Lone chicks left on their own usually don't survive. [​IMG]

Do you have another few eggs you can put in there?

7. LarryPQ

LarryPQ Easter Hatch!!

Jul 17, 2009