Can't keep everyone happy

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Honey65, Jan 4, 2014.

1. Honey65

Honey65 New Egg

Jan 4, 2014
    Pinner, London - UK
    Hello

I'm new to BYC and fairly new to chicken keeping. I live in outer London in a rented suburban semi. Our garden is about 20 by 10 yards excluding a patio.

We got our 4 ex-battery hens in November and since then they've had the following homes:

1. Coop with enclosed small run on a wood chip bed. (pic 1)
    [​IMG] Good for cleaning out, not having to plodge on wet grass, secure for hens
    [​IMG] Bad for chickens - they kept knocking their feeder and water over as not enough space for them

[​IMG]

2. Total free range in day, then in coop at night
    [​IMG] Good for chickens - all VERY happy
    [​IMG] Bad for garden (poo EVERYwhere), not safe as we're out all day

3. Electric fenced pen plus coop at night (pic 2)
    [​IMG] Good....Its a compromise, right??? chickens are safe, still have about half the garden an have grass and soil
    [​IMG] Bad for garden - still poo all over half the garden and what happens when we need to move it to fresh grass? We'll be left with no usable grass. Also chickens not happy about being penned in an shout quite a bit if they see us.

[​IMG]

I'm a bit fed up. I really wished we'd not let them free range as they'll go mad if I put them in a smaller pen. You'd think they would remember they used to live in a cage the size of A4 sheet of paper, but no! Now they've had freedom they are quite demanding [​IMG]. I'd love to get something like this as it'd be easy to clean and keep them safe.

[​IMG]

My concern is they'll be noisy (neighbours will not be happy / could complain to the house's owner) and also would it be hard to install in a garden we're not supposed to make changes to?

But.. if we don't move them, the garden will be trashed and the owner will be unhappy, plus we have no grass left for the kids to play in the summer ...