Chicken behaviors, pecking order, etc....

ccabal

Chirping
7 Years
Aug 1, 2013

Here are my chickens. I took a picture of them while sleeping tonight. The black one is named "Black Beauty", and she's a black sex-link. The one next to her is an Americauna (Stinkerpot). Then next to her I think is a Rhode Island Red (Goldie) , and next to her a white EasterEgger (Angel)

We got them all when they were tiny chicks this spring. BlackBeauty and Stinkerpot started laying the past two weeks, but Goldie and Angel have not yet.

Being a newbie, I just wanted to understand their pecking order, and some behaviors I see. They have gotten along real well since they were babies, although as they got older I would see some chest bumping and other "stand-offs", which are hilarious. But I think BlackBeauty has emerged as the dominant one. She is the biggest hen. and she has the biggest red wattle/comb.

What is strange is that she does not seem to like Angel very much. I have noticed recently that Angel avoids her as much as she can, and BlackBeauty sometimes pecks her, and she just runs away and squacks. BlackBeauty doesn't seem to mind the other chickens at all and they aren't scared of her, but when Angel gets to close, she will peck at her and scare her off.
Is this normal that the alpha hen would tolerate some hens and dislike others? Angel gets along with the other hens without any problems and they are nice to her too.

Looking forward to hearing what you guys think.

-Christian

Last edited:
I know there are sure some people I'd like to peck sometimes
gig.gif
I'm sure chickens are the same. If I had a little less social inhibitions, I might chase them around some, too
barnie.gif

I know there are sure some people I'd like to peck sometimes  :gig  I'm sure chickens are the same. If I had a little less social inhibitions, I might chase them around some, too  :barnie

:yuckyuck