Chicken or dog?

Erin277

Chirping
5 Years
Jun 12, 2014
Oregon
I am totally new to raising chickens so this may be a silly question, but are chickens extremely social animals? My chickens are 24 weeks and we have raised them since they were chicks. Here is why I ask my question:
1. My EE starts squawking at around 7am. Sounds like a car alarm, rhythmic and continuous until we go out and feed her.
2. Whenever we go outside all three 1 EE and 2 Red Sexlinks come to the run's door and wait. Nugget actually pecks at the wire until I open it.
3. I just went outside while they were running around the backyard and they came all the way across the yard, jumped/flew up to my deck and stopped next to me. They then waited for me to pet them. After I was done petting them, they kept coming after me as if I didn't pet them enough. It was crazy.

Other question:
1. Why do they sleep under their coop (it's lifted off the ground) instead of inside the coop??

Thanks in advance.

My chickens start squawking as soon as I whistle for my dogs to come back in from their morning run around the yard. They WILL not shut up until I open the door and greet them with fresh water and food. I secretly suspect they like to watch me clean up all the creative ways they managed to poop during the night. :p My chickens come running anytime I am outside. I doubt this is out of love... the want treats. But they will also follow me around.. observe me. I think it just depends on the chicken, their personality and how they were raised, how comfortable they are with people on how social they are.
I don't know why the sleep on the ground. Is there enough room for each of them to roost? Have they ever slept on the roost?--if they have it could be mites. Have you tried putting them on the roosts?

Last edited: