Chicken walking like a penguin

trailblazn

Chirping
7 Years
Jan 30, 2012
im reposting this in this area of the forum.

My Americauna is walking like a penguin. i have read a lot about impacted eggs. she has a bulge between her legs and it is soft when i felt it. I'm thinking the only thing i can try incase its a soft shell impaction is soaking her in warm water like i have read. she walks but you can tell she really doesn't want to if she doesn't have to but she does try to keep where the other hens are. she will eat. maybe, i just need to keep an eye on her? any help on this would be appreciated.
i have also read about putting a little oil below, but i really don't want to do anything i don't know how and make things worse.
i am new to chickens so it makes me sad to see her like that.

Sorry to hear about your girl. Not long ago I had a hen that started walking like a sumu wrestler. She looked like she was uncomfortable. It ended up being ascites (fluid in her abdomen). By the time I realized what she had it was too late and she died. I opened her abdomen and she gushed fluid. I was amazed. Unfortunately if that is what is wrong with her it isn't a good prognosis.

its hard for me to know if it is an egg or maybe fluid. I'm going to try and give her a warm bath and have her drink some olive oil. i could try and help her expel it, if i knew for sure it is an egg but i just don't know.

What I was going to try was to cut a small hole in her abdomen to see if I could get any fluid. I never got the chance. I though it was worth the try. If it is fluid you'll know right away. Did you check internally for an egg?