Chicken with Diarrhea

ChristinaMc86

In the Brooder
Mar 28, 2022
New York
Hey everyone, I’m relatively new to owning chickens. I have a 1 year old chicken I found last year that has had the worst case of diarrhea for months. I’ve brought her to the vet 2x and he can’t seem to find anything wrong. He checked for worms, coccidiosis, and some other things. (I have to check the paperwork) anyway she was initially lethargic but now seems fine besides her terrible diarrhea. She’s eating and drinking normally and none of my other chickens have this problem. I’ll attach some photos maybe someone will recognize what this could possibly be. Thanks so much!!! (And sorry it’s pretty gross in advance) and yes she walked into my house and left me these amazing presents on the wood floor 🤦🏼‍♀️

Attachments

• 9EAA1B5F-BEBF-4BB6-B9A8-0B725278978C.jpeg
    9EAA1B5F-BEBF-4BB6-B9A8-0B725278978C.jpeg
    612.8 KB · Views: 43
  • 3B3AE140-25FC-4785-BBD0-BD64BC5F2053.jpeg
    3B3AE140-25FC-4785-BBD0-BD64BC5F2053.jpeg
    940.3 KB · Views: 8
  • E15773C0-9AB0-4756-A28D-C5AE5EC98934.jpeg
    E15773C0-9AB0-4756-A28D-C5AE5EC98934.jpeg
    632.2 KB · Views: 9
What do you feed, including treats?
When was her last egg - are her eggs normal?
Crop emptying?

Photos of her and how she stands?

I'd consider deworming and treating for Coccidiosis.

Safeguard (Fenbendazole) liquid goat dewormer at 0.23ml per pound of weight given orally once a day for 5 days in a row.

Corid liquid at 2tsp or Corid powder at 1 1/2 tsp per gallon of water given for 5-7 days day as the only source of drinking water. Don't add any Extra supplements or vitamins containing B1(Thiamine) during the course of treatment.

After you finish deworming and treating for Coccidiosis, get some probiotics into her. Buttermilk stirred into her feed for several days or you can give 1 Acidophilus tablet daily.

See if she improves.

Just My 2¢