Chickens have diarrhea ----- HELP

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by oklahorselover, Aug 9, 2009.

1. oklahorselover

oklahorselover Out Of The Brooder

Jan 26, 2008
    Okla
    Two of my buff's have watery diarrhea.They are eating, drinking & are healthy. Is there something I should be giving them ?? There are no worms in their watery poop.
    Second question. Two of my bannies are bald, well almost.None of my other hens or the roosters pick at them. They just lost their feathers. It's sad & I worry about them getting sunburned when they are out. Any suggestions on what I can do to get their feathers back on, besides glue "just kidding [​IMG]"

Thank You

2. shandiane78

shandiane78 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 23, 2009
    Woodinville, WA
    I'm totally new to this, so take whatever I say with a grain of salt! I was worried about one of my hens having watery poop too. This was during an unusually hot time here. I read that they sometimes poop out water in hot weather so that they can take in more cool water and bring down their body temp. Anyway, I don't know if it's overly hot where you are, or if that could be the explanation (or if it's even true since I read it who-knows-where online, lol). I hope your hens are ok!

Shannon

3. Sillystunt

Sillystunt Master of the Silly

Jul 11, 2008
    Winter Haven, FL
    ok, i would suggest getting plain yogurt and give it to them. It helps regulate that. I sprinkle feed lightly on top or put freah fruit. Stand back , they make a mess [​IMG]
    As long as the poo has no blood you'll be OK! Other colors do indicate thing but for now focus on that. What color is the poo?

2nd, chickens molt. It's probally what happened. Give them a shaded area and they will be OK

4. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

5. oklahorselover

Jan 26, 2008
    Okla