Chicks at -40

PolarChicken

Hatching
6 Years
Jan 4, 2014
Manitoba, Canada
So I live in Manitoba, Canada and its been regularly between -30 and -40 overnight. I've got a bunch of ISA Browns that seem to be fine in this cold, but I've also got some 6 week old chicks bred from them. I recently tried to put them in a semi insulated brooder to get them out of my basement and despite their bring under a brooder lamp, three of them died and I had to move them back inside. I'm just wondering if I tried this too early or whether they should be acclimatized in smaller increments somehow. Even in this brooder it got below freezing despite the lamp. Any ideas on age to put them out. I'm a little concerned because I would like to put them with the other chickens at about 8 weeks. Thanks.

I hope some good folks can help you, i feel your pain as I am in Minnesota, yeah, it's cold. This is my first year with my three girls that I rescued so I can't answer your questions. My gut would say wait as long as you can to put them out. Six to eight weeks is not that old and it is terribly cold out.
Mabe in two weeks it won't be so bloody cold. I understand that they are hardy birds and all but my need to provide excellent care for my animals is strong and to me they are pets and not livestock.

Don't put the chicks out period! They are way too young, are obviously not feathered out completely and will not withstand the cold. Losing three chicks has already demonstrated that. There is no big emergency to put them with the other birds, their health and well-being should come first. I'd get them out of the basement and into a small room or porch until the cold is over with. Semi-insulated brooder with a heat lamp isn't enough to keep them from dying if the basement is still too cold. Also, there is a very real danger of frostbite where the combs, wattles and feet will freeze and have to be amputated.