closed eye/ peeling skin?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Bridget399, Dec 9, 2009.

1. Bridget399

Bridget399 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2009
    South Western PA
    My Silkie roo, who is just over a year old has a slightly puffy eye. When I gently cleaned it with a damp wash cloth, it opened and looked good. It didn't open the whole way, but the eye was nice and clear, no puss or cloudiness.

About 20 minutes later, it was bubbling, a clear fluid (not puss). I wiped this away and the skin peeled of around the eye, like a sun burn. It didn't bleed, but gently came off as I wiped it away. It peeled back to the waddle.

He's been crowing, eating and drinking. Also acting normally. No raspiness, and no weird stool.

I don't know what to make of this and what to do about it???

Sorry about the horrible pics, I asked Santa for a new camera!
    [​IMG]

P.S. I am new to chickens, I've never been through molting with my flock. I apologize if this is all it is (but will be greatly relieved)! Do you think he could shed his skin and block his tear duct?

2. High Roost Ranch

High Roost Ranch The Chicken Whisperer