Cochin Breeding

FreckledFourCoop

Chirping
Apr 6, 2022
Florida
Hello, I’m new to breeding and would love to know more of what possibilities I would get. I have 2 Roos, who I’m not sure on which to keep.

Roosters:
1 Barred
1 White Frizzle

Hens:
1 Barred
1 Red Frizzle
1 White Frizzle
3 Splash

I do know not to put frizzle and frizzle together so if I got rid of my him, would I end up with only barred offspring?

A male pure for barring will pass the gene to all of his offspring, yes. His chicks would be as follows:
- With the Barred hen, you'll obviously get 100% Barred offspring.
- With the Splash hens, you'll get Blue Barred offspring. Bear in mind that, since the Splash hens are not barred, the cockerels resulting from this cross will, like their sisters, be single-factor or dark barred, meaning that they can go on to produce chicks that are not barred. Since the barring gene is sexlinked, females only need one copy from their father to be 'pure' for barring, but males need two copies, one from each parent.
- With the Red hen, you'll get mixed color offspring. More than likely, they'll hatch out looking Barred, but feather in with patches of red or gold, possibly even silver depending on the father's genes.
- With the White hen, it's hard to say. White Cochins have the recessive white gene, which hides everything, so what her offspring will look like depend on what genes are hiding under her white exterior. She may produce pure Barred offspring, or she may produce mixed-color offspring with leakage like the Red hen. Any of her chicks will also carry the recessive white gene, so if bred back to a White Cochin or to another Cochin carrying the gene, they could produce more Whites.
And, with either of the frizzled birds, independent of plumage coloring, about half of their offspring will be frizzled and half smooth when bred to a smooth Cochin.