1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

coop inside hoop house

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by bj taylor, Nov 5, 2011.

1. bj taylor

bj taylor Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 28, 2011
    North Central Texas
    i'm brand new to chickens & byc. we started our coop yesterday (gorgeous day). we're building it inside my hoop house & they'll have a nice outside area as well. i can't wait to see it completed. i'm still trying to figure out what kind of chickens to get. i want pretty heavy ones & preferably dual purpose. ideally i want brown eggs (just because). plan on having everything ready in time for spring. by the way, i love this site. i've already learned so much just from reading here.
    everyone have a great day.

2. AlienChick

AlienChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2010
    Glasgow, KY
    Enjoy your upcoming chickens and coop.

If you need help deciding which breeds to get, try the BREED SELECTOR TOOL to give you some ideas.

Good luck!

[​IMG]

3. prairiehen74369

prairiehen74369 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2010
    north east oklahoma
    Got to put in a good word for Silver Laced Wyandotts for good looks brown eggs. Enjoy your coop. I'm envious.

4. bj taylor

Oct 28, 2011
    North Central Texas
    thanks;
    i have looked @ that site for choosing breeds. i need to study it some more. i'm looking forward to learning how to post pics also.

5. bj taylor

Oct 28, 2011
    North Central Texas
    silver laced wyandotts huh? i'm going to check them out right now. thanks

6. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    My favorite heavy is Jersey Giant. They're docile, huge and lay well. They come in Black, White and Blue.