coop sides- use wire or wood panels? very hot in the summer!

asteria01

Chirping
5 Years
Jan 2, 2015
CA
as stated, it gets very very hot in the summer here, easily over 100 F. would it be more beneficial to make a coop with wired sides enforced with wood support so that there would more ventilation or just keep the sides wood paneled for safety? the chickens would ideally free roam the yard during the day and go back in the coop at night to sleep, but theres no garauntee that they would be getting out early in the day before it gets super hot, and i wouldnt want them to overheat in there before we let them out. it will be in partial shade. there will be around 6 chickens in the coop.

Personally, I would use a short solid wall on the bottom (24"-36") and then wire on the upper portion of the wall. Heat will rise and go out while still offering the most protection. And I agree a box fan works wonders......

i see... thanks guys! im a total newbie, first time building a coop. do you recommend deep bed litter for it? ive read that the temperature can actually rise when using this method...

oh and in my area i doubt i will see foxes.. its a suburban area without any wilderness. but i definitely have seen opossums. best way for protection against opossums? we have cats so they dont seem to actually come into our yard and we dont have food lying about, but they do sit on the fences and staarrrree their dark little beady eyes into our place.

Last edited:
i see... thanks guys! im a total newbie, first time building a coop. do you recommend deep bed litter for it? ive read that the temperature can actually rise when using this method...