Corn on the cob and watermelon

workindog

Songster
6 Years
Dec 11, 2015
CT
Possibly stupid question here. I picked up 3 extra ears of corn on the cob tonight just for our chickens. Last time i gave them our left over (boiled) corn on the cob and they LOVEDDDDDD it. My stupid question is, is it better for them to eat it raw or should i boil it? Will they eat the silk and husk too or is that a no no?

Also, we bought a whole watermelon tonight. I cut it all up but saved the rind for them. Would the whole rind be too much if i divide it up to last about 3 or 4 days? Just not sure how much is too much..

Thanks in advance for your help :)

PS im new to feeding chickens so i hope no one minds when i pop in with some random questions lol

I'm sure I've asked plenty of silly things so don't worry lol.

I don't think it'll make a difference for the corn to be raw or boiled. Ive tried giving corn husks before but mine didn't eat the husks. Not sure if silk and husks are a no no, I've never thought about that.

You should probably divide the watermelon rind to last a few days so the chooks are still eating their layer food. But I don't think I'll matter too much either way.
And if they don't want to eat it all, I'd just compost it :)

I'm sure I've asked plenty of silly things so don't worry lol.

I don't think it'll make a difference for the corn to be raw or boiled. Ive tried giving corn husks before but mine didn't eat the husks. Not sure if silk and husks are a no no, I've never thought about that.

You should probably divide the watermelon rind to last a few days so the chooks are still eating their layer food. But I don't think I'll matter too much either way.
And if they don't want to eat it all, I'd just compost it :)