Coturnix or Bobwhite? Which is better?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by MoMo15, Sep 2, 2011.

1. MoMo15

MoMo15 New Egg

Sep 1, 2011
    I want to breed and raise quails for meat. I am new at raising any animals besides hamsters. I have heard alot about both Coturnix and Bobwhite quail but I don't know which is better. Any suggestions for this beginner?

2. JJMR794

JJMR794 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2009
    BROOKSVILLE FL
    Coturnix Are The Production Birds Of Teh Gamebird World... Roaches Of The Quail World, And Most Docile And Easily Handled. Bobs Are Slow, Do Not Produce Anywhere Near The Amount Of Eggs Coturnix Do And Are Extremely Agressive And Spastic Easily Requiring 10x's More Output In Time, Money, And Effort, However Most Folks Tend To Think Bobs Are More Tasty

3. MoMo15

MoMo15 New Egg

Sep 1, 2011
    Ok. Thank you! Know anywhere I can order hatching eggs?

4. yinepu

yinepu Overrun With Chickens

Bobs are insane.. I keep telling myself that I don't NEED any bobs... but part of my brain is just sick enough to want me to try raising them anyway...

So far I haven't given in.... but i know its only a matter of time.....

5. DUCKGIRL89

DUCKGIRL89 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2011
    TN
    Quote:dont give in.... Lol. Oh and [​IMG] MoMo15 !!!

6. _Randall_

_Randall_ Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 3, 2009
    Grenada, Ms
    Quote:I suggest you take a course in Bobwhite Psychology first. Otherwise, you will be faced with raising creatures that are as bipolar as Charles Manson that may take you by surprise..... [​IMG]

7. yinepu

yinepu Overrun With Chickens

Quote:I suggest you take a course in Bobwhite Psychology first. Otherwise, you will be faced with raising creatures that are as bipolar as Charles Manson that may take you by surprise..... [​IMG]

they're insane.. pure and simple.. kind of a Jekyll and Hyde type of critter.. at least that's what Ive gathered from everyone here....