Coturnix Quail Questions! for a newbie

jbarrett

Songster
7 Years
Sep 19, 2012
Florida
I am new to quail and just have a few qucik questions, and would really appreciate it for any info! I was just given 30 Coturnix quail (brown and A&M)! I am really excited but need to know a few things! I live in Florida if the climate has anything to do with their breeding! but answer whatever questions you have the answer for!! Thank you, Justin!

1. People are telling me quail are hard to raise from babies to adult and hard to keep adults alive, is there any truth in that?
  2. I have 200 chicks also just given to me and I have had them before and keep the pen clean and fresh food and water and they are not hard, are quail the same way?
  3. Do they lay eggs year round with extended light in the pens?
  4. Are the eggs fertile all year?
  5. How do hatcheries get quail all year if the eggs are not fertile all year?
  6. ALSO a BIG ONE HERE!! Is there any way to sex the A&M quail by just looking at the bird 5 weeks old? I can sex the brown ones!

I agree with most of the above. First of all, Quail are easy CHEESY not easy Peasy. That is a false statement. :)

The quail are easy to raise and the adults are easy to keep alive with basic care. Food, water, and shelter, A little affection goes a long way. Some folks have trouble with their quail because there is a lot of inbreeding going on in the quail universe. Inbreeding leads to all sorts of problems including health, viability, size, hardiness, and gimpyness.

James Marie explained to me once about the A&M and British White difference. If I remember what he said, I think the A&M were bred out of the British Whites. What most people sell today as A&M are actually BW's. James Marie - can you jump in and explain for all of us ?