Day 15.... cotournix quail eggs... do I expect any movement yet? Or do I wait?

RenegadeSkate3

Chirping
Jul 3, 2018
It’s day 15 and I’m hoping for movement.... if any of you are willing to guide me on how to successfully hatch these bad boys/girls healthy please ask me what I need to do I’m new to quail stuff only know stuff due to reading articles... :hit:jumpy

Also I know this is quail forum now... last time I was posting in other forums... I was hoping to find quail experts here(cotournix)

Day 15 is only one day after lockdown, it's okay if nobody's out just yet. NONE of mine visibly wiggled before they started zipping. Give them time, and keep us updated.
Is it okey to candle one egg? To make sure everything is fine? Or should I leave them be?

If you haven't candled them already, it would be a good idea to do that now and then lock them down and don't handle them any more.

In the case of quail eggs, candling generally means that if you see that an egg is dark it has a chick in it and if you see that it's yellow/green when the light shines through, remove and discard the egg.

Sometimes the eggs really wiggle, and other times they don't move much.

If you haven't done so already, when you take them out to candle them before lockdown it's a good idea to put a piece of rubber shelf paper (with holes) onto the bottom of the incubator so that when the chicks hatch they are able to get their legs under them. Otherwise, their legs can splay. Also in the brooder for the first couple of days you want to make sure that they aren't slipping around so I use shelf paper there as well.

Yes everything what the above posted said. If you haven’t candled yet and no one has pipped I would do it, make sure after you do it and toss the bad eggs that the humidity goes back up to proper levels you want it higher for hatching some people say 60, some say 75 some say 85%, so I mean you gotta decide what you are gonna go with.