1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

day 17, I think I may have killed my chicks- help

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by new2thechickworld, Mar 21, 2008.

1. new2thechickworld

new2thechickworld Out Of The Brooder

Mar 21, 2008
    Texas
    Hi I am new at incubating- this is our first time. We or really I have put so much work, time and love into these little eggs. We recently candled them and for sure have 3 out of 4 silkies doing very well. However, I have had a few minor issues with the temperture the past 2 days- so this morning I attempted to adjust it. An hour later I came back and the themometor was maxed out at 120! Did I kill them? I am so very upset. I tried checking one but it wasn't moving. I am really hoping someone gives me the news I want to hear but the truth is better- If you have any knowledge on this please let me know.

Thanks in advance-
    Crying over the eggs.[​IMG]

2. scgamecock

scgamecock Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2008
    Conway SC
    Don't give up yet just wait it out.You may get a few to survive.

3. orlandoluv1

orlandoluv1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2008
    spring valley , CA
    in all honesty i dont really think they are going to make it. im sorry. it really depends on how long they were in that high temperature. i would try candling a little later to see, but personally at this poitn i would just wait out the next couple of days you only have 4 more days to go and you never know ...ther still might be someone who can make it. i would just wait and see. keep me posted k

4. Crazy4Chicks

Crazy4Chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2007
    Glendale, AZ