Day 24 & Not One Pip

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by carniven, Apr 14, 2009.

1. carniven

carniven Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2009
    Cape Cod
    I purchased six Big Buff Orpington hatching eggs and not one has hatched. It's now Day 24 and no sign of anything happening. They've been in the Hovabator at 99-100 degrees. Humidity was between 50 & 65 through Day 18, then 75+ since. Should I give up and try again? We're all so disappointed.

2. lurky

lurky Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2007
    Western MA
    Quote:Were they shipped eggs? Might be the PO was too rough on them. That humidity was a bit higher than i usually go with, but i am no expert on it.

Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  3. Leah-yes I know I'm crazy

Leah-yes I know I'm crazy Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2008
    Skidway Lake, MI
    Sorry to hear about the unsuccessful hatch. I recently had to bury the entire contents of my incubator also. When was the last time you candled and there appeared to be movement? With mine they were fine on day 16, showed no movement on day 18 and none hatched. I think I had a bad temp spike or serious humidity problem on day 17. Good luck figuring out what the problem is. If you are going to crack the eggs to autopsy I'd reccomend doing it outside. Sometimes it helps to figure out how far they did make it in order to adjust for the next hatch.

4. lilchick

lilchick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2008
    Williamsport In.
    It may have been the incubator. I borrowed a hovabator and set 25 fresh eggs of my own. Had the temp. right and water in bottom.
    I ended up with only 3 hatched with deformities..... I broke open other eggs and looks like 5 infertile's and the rest were quitters part way thru development.....

I also set up my Browers Top Hatch and out of 30 eggs I got 22 perfectly healthy chicks,4 infertile and 4 quitters. I will never use a hovabator again...

5. tellynpeep

tellynpeep Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 4, 2008