development question

rir264

Songster
10 Years
Apr 29, 2013
Plant City, Florida
This is my first time incubating and have 14 bantam eggs going, on day seven I candle and saw the little embryos bouncing around and of course the veining. my question is that on day 14 i candled and it seems that three eggs the development is not as advanced as the others, is this normal and will they "catch up" closer to hatching day? Why the the delay in development? Saturday should be the day that they hatch I am so excited.

This is my first time incubating and have 14 bantam eggs going, on day seven I candle and saw the little embryos bouncing around and of course the veining. my question is that on day 14 i candled and it seems that three eggs the development is not as advanced as the others, is this normal and will they "catch up" closer to hatching day? Why the the delay in development? Saturday should be the day that they hatch I am so excited.
Here's a good thread for comparison: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...g-candling-pics-progression-though-incubation

If you have warm and cool spots in your bator and you don't rotate the eggs throughout the incubation any eggs sitting in a warmer spot will grow faster. Don't be surprised if they are delayed hatching or the more advanced hatch early.

Good luck!!

Thanks for the info I did not realize that I needed to rotate the eggs within the bator. If they are delayed by a day or two will lockdown harm the that are going to hatch a day or two later and should I turn them for a extra day or just leave them alone with the other eggs?

Thanks for the info I did not realize that I needed to rotate the eggs within the bator. If they are delayed by a day or two will lockdown harm the that are going to hatch a day or two later and should I turn them for a extra day or just leave them alone with the other eggs?